Dear friends, hand surgeons, therapists, nurses and students.

Welcome to the upcoming congress of the SSSH, to be held at Herlev Hospital (Copenhagen) during August 22 to 23, 2024. The meeting is organized in collaboration with the Danish Association for Hand Therapists. Moreover, the Polish Society for Surgery of the Hand will be our guest.

We promise you a meeting with a most interesting scientific content.

Invited speakers:

From Scandinavia

Hand surgeons

  • Martin Clementson (S)
  • Peter Jörgsholm (DK)
  • Ole Reigstad (N)
  • Maria Wilcke (S)
  • Robert Gvozdenovic (DK)
  • Torsten Schriever (S)
  • Teemu Karlalainen (FI)
  • Torben Bæk Hansen (DK)
  • Magnus Tägill (S)
  • Asgeir Amundsen (N)

Hand Therapists

  • Elisabeth Ekstrand (S)
  • Linda Evertsson (S)
  • Alice Ørts (DK)
  • Susanne Boel (DK)


  • Sif Gylfadottir (neurologist) (DK)
  • Trine Frellesen (writer) (DK)

From outside Scandinavia

Hand surgeons

  • Joseph Dias (UK)
  • David Warwick (UK)
  • Jin Bo Tang (China)
  • Piotr Czarnecki (PL) - Polish FESSH delegate
  • Ireneusz Walaszek (PL) - Polish IFSSH delegate
  • Paweł Reichert (PL) - The President of PTCHR
  • Guillaume Herzberg (F)

Hand therapist

  • Sarah Mee (UK)


  • Miriam Marks (researcher/therapist) (CH)
  • Ruud Selles (researcher) (NL)

The scientific sessions will integrate lectures and free papers by hand surgeons as well as therapists.

Special sessions will be devoted to “Scaphoid Injuries” and “The Psychological Factors of Treating Hands”, and some of the talks will revolve around controversies of “Digital nerves”, “Evidence-based treatments” and “Complications” in hand surgery and rehabilitation. Prof. Jin Bo Tang will give the Moberg lecture entitled “Flexor tendon surgery in the hand: dogmas, challenges and current practice”, and we organized sessions on what´s new in the treatments of “Distal Radius Fractures in elderly populations” and “TFCC injuries”.

Important dates

  • Abstract submission opens: December 1, 2023
  • Abstract submission deadline: April 5, 2024
  • Author notification: May 8, 2024
  • Early bird registration deadline: May 31, 2024
  • Welcome ceremony at Copenhagen City Hall: August 21, 2024
  • Congress “Dinner & Dance”: August 22, 2024



On behalf of the Organizing Committee

Michel Boeckstyns (Congress President)